You Can’t Out-Exercise A Bad Diet

Exercise is healthy.

Exercise is necessary for good lasting health.

It gets you strong, gets you fit and keeps you young (I’m living proof of course J )

Everyone who knows me knows I love exercising and I do some form of it everyday and I strongly suggest that everyone do it too.

But exercise alone is not going to be effective for weight management or weight loss.

For it to truly work, exercise really needs to be paired with a healthy eating plan, adequate sleep, effective stress management, and a good dash of vitamin D in the form of sunshine and being in the great outdoors.

I’ve just returned home from a 10 day working trip to Norway and Maderia and unfortunately I wasn’t in control of my food.

Especially in Norway where I was busy engaging in activities such as via ferrata, hiking, kayaking.

While everyone else was able to grab a quick sandwich to take with them because we weren’t stopping at a place for lunch, I had to make do with nuts and protein shakes on the go.

I was also unable to go to the gym as the hotels I was staying at did not have one.

So as you can imagine I felt as if I went off scale in my body sculpting journey.

I was planning to go to the gym on my return and pretty much “out do” all those nuts I had eaten over the course of my trip.

Until I reminded myself that I can’t out-exercise a bad diet and poor lifestyle.

Ok that may seem extreme to most of you because compared to most people, that wasn’t too bad on the food front.

But still it was something that I wanted to share with you because I always see people at my gym doing back to back classes because they over did it the night before or at the weekend.

Exercise is a stressor after all and does more harm than good if you maintain a chronic, extreme pace and frequency.

It makes you hungry, leaves you fatigued so you end up eating more and less active. So in effect bringing you back to square one.

So remember that diet is key. Food accounts for 80% of the body’s composition so keep your diet in check and you’re well over halfway on your way to a healthier you!

And I will make sure that I am a lot more organised in packing healthy foods with me even when I’m not in the country so I never feel like I’m not in control.

It’s all in the planning.

About Fitlass

I'm a young, independent, career driven girl with a hectic lifestyle. Once upon a time I used to be fat but now I've changed my ways and lead a healthy lifestyle. I want to show you how YOU too can be fit and healthy and yet STILL have a lifestyle!
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

