Emotional Eating……write about it.

Image

Emotional eating is when you use food to suppress whatever negative feeling’s that you may be experiencing. Boredom, loneliness, fear, stress, and anger are all triggers for Emotional eaters. Are you like this? I know I used to do this a lot. In fact I recall it right now. I used to argue a lot with my sister and then go and use food as a way to make me feel better. I thought I was having a dig at my sister who tirelessly tried to help me lose weight, but really all I was doing was hurting myself. The thing is I started to learn that food was not going to help get rid of the problem(s) I had. After I scoffed half a packet of multi-pack chocs, I’d feel ten times worse. So I found a way to keep it at bay – by writing about my feelings. Whenever, I was angry or feeling any negative feelings, I would scribble them down and take my frustrations out on the notepad. I would be on my own and take time to reflect on what had happened and what had triggered me towards wanting to eat food. When I was done writing things down, I usually felt a whole lot better and I would’ve gained some clarity on why I felt the way I felt.  If you have an episode of emotional eating, forgive yourself and start fresh the very next moment or meal. Try to learn from the experience and make a plan for how you can prevent it in the future. Focus on the positive changes you’re making in your eating habits and give yourself credit for making changes that’ll lead to better health. I lost my weight years ago but to this day if I ever feel like overdoing it because of my emotions, I don’t hesitate to pick up the pen and paper.

About Fitlass

I'm a young, independent, career driven girl with a hectic lifestyle. Once upon a time I used to be fat but now I've changed my ways and lead a healthy lifestyle. I want to show you how YOU too can be fit and healthy and yet STILL have a lifestyle!
This entry was posted in Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

