A Mighty Leaf

Sometimes there are foods that we know are good for us but we don’t want to eat them because we don’t particularly like the taste of them or indeed know what to do with them.

But it pays to start liking them because they are just so amazingly good for you.

Introducing the mighty leaf that is the spinach. Admittedly I wasnt a fan of it at first but just like beer it became an acquired taste. 🙂

And when I kept reading about the benefits of it, I could hardly ignore it any more.

One cup of raw spinach has only a few calories and it rocks the nutrition charts in calcium, fiber, iron, manganese, magnesium, niacin, phosphorous, potassium, riboflavin, niacin, and vitamins A, B6, C, and zinc.

Spinach is also firmly packed with the carotenoids lutein and zeaxanthin.

Lutein and zeaxanthin are the “eye vitamins” that the ophthalmologist told me to take because of a family history of macular degeneration

So I have found ways to incorporate this superfood in my diet to keep me healthy and strong.

Try it yourself – add it to an omlette or frittata for breakfast, as an alternative to shredded lettuce in you salad at lunch or steam some to go with your chicken and other veg for dinner.

Popeye had better watch out!

About Fitlass

I'm a young, independent, career driven girl with a hectic lifestyle. Once upon a time I used to be fat but now I've changed my ways and lead a healthy lifestyle. I want to show you how YOU too can be fit and healthy and yet STILL have a lifestyle!
This entry was posted in Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Mighty Leaf

  1. andy1076 says:

    Spinach is something that i am crazy about, it’s even better tasting too. If you have peanut sauce on it like they do at Japanese restaurants 🙂

Leave a Reply

