How to be Alpha Fit!

Hey guys! I’m really excited about a brand new free men’s magazine that has been launched called AlphaFit. No……. not because it gives me another excuse to drool over hunks (although clearly that’s a bonus!) but because I am so in tune with the way men approach health and fitness.

You see having read numerous magazines and health websites over the years on how to lose weight, keep it off, eat a good balanced meal and exercise, I found that it’s the men’s websites and health magazines that helped me get to the healthy stage I’m at today

On the whole men’s health magazines don’t encourage me to eat “diet, low fat, or sugar free” foods. They tell me to eat clean unprocessed foods. In addition they don’t tell me to spend hours and hours of doing cardiovascular exercise. They actually encourage me to do strength training so that I’m still burning calories long after I’ve finished my exercise.

The point I’m making here is that the approach men take to health and fitness is generally straightforward without the gimmicks. And they may be onto something here as according to research by Slimming World, nine out of 10 men on a diet managed to lose weight over a 12 week period, while only half of women lost that amount in the same time

However, it has to be pointed out that men do have the unfair physiological advantage when it comes to ditching the pounds. That’s because they tend to be larger and have a higher proportion of muscle than women so burn up more calories. But don’t let that put you off girls. As the saying goes, if you can’t beat them join them. So in a nutshell here’s some tips I’ve picked up from men’s mags– read, learn and then imitate.

Men get on with it – when guys decide to lose weight they view it as another task. They acknowledge  the weight they need to shift, knuckle down and get on with it. And if they have one too many Stella’s (that sounds like me!) they just enjoy it and move on.

Men don’t starve themselves – Rather than substituting healthy meals with scraps of lettuce leaves and then reaching for snacks 10 minutes later, men will enjoy three nutritious healthy meals so they don’t have to snack.

Men satisfy their cravings – If they fancy a Yorkie bar (oh and for the record it’s not just for men!) they will have it. They don’t trawl through supermarket aisles looking for the lowest calorie chocolate bar that leaves a bitter taste in your mouth

Men don’t abandon food – Men’s approach to nutrition is uncomplicated and linked to pleasure. Women are restrained eaters and deprive themselves of forbidden foods until they give in to their temptations and binge.

So yes, going back to AlphaFit, it’s the UK’s first free men’s health, fitness and lifestyle magazine launched this week.

It can be found in over 650 upmarket gyms and health clubs including Virgin Active, David Lloyd, Bannatynes & Fitness First.

For more information and your nearest stockist, click on to their website http://alphafitmagazine.co.uk/about-us/

About Fitlass

I'm a young, independent, career driven girl with a hectic lifestyle. Once upon a time I used to be fat but now I've changed my ways and lead a healthy lifestyle. I want to show you how YOU too can be fit and healthy and yet STILL have a lifestyle!
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

