Does your body need a break?

First of all apologies for the late blog post. I normally post posts every 5/6 days or so but I have a reason -I was on holiday in Thailand! We all need a break from time to time. In fact boffins tell us that holidays should be a necessity and not a luxury to allow our bodies a break from the stresses of work. We often overlook the importance of proper rest and relaxation, but without it our bodies don’t have time to repair, recuperate and grow.

But while I was packing, I recall my friend questioning me: “Why are you taking your gym kit? It’s supposed to be a holiday!” And do you know what my reaction was? I replied: “Just like my body needs food everyday, it needs exercise!”

In fact holidays are probably one of the best times to reclaim up to 30% of our fitness, according to experts. Holidays force us to exercise because we walk greater distances, swim, and if we have children chase after them and play sports with them. Just standing upright instead of sitting down at a desk all day will help you look and feel better. In our mundane 9 to 5 daily jobs, we make excuses for not having time to work out so when we are on holiday and have 24 hours to ourselves, what better way to rebuild on our fitness?

As I say, being healthy is a combination of mind body and spirit so holidays can help us feel inspired again. If you’ve lost gusto for work, keeping fit and play then holidays are a great time for an inspiration top up. Visiting places that move you and doing things that you’re passionate about are an instant fast-track to idea heaven.  And how do you do that? Sunlight, laughter, healthy food, exercise, sex and fresh air are all guaranteed to have you bouncing off the walls with enthusiasm!

And I’m not party pooper, I did indulge in good foods and a good drink, but because I was exercising everyday (and being the fitness fanatic I am, I also went to the gym every day while I was out there 🙂 ) I’ve come back feeling better than I did when I went away without having piled on a single pound. So yes it can be done, you can really have your cake and eat it, if you change your mindset. Remember as always, it’s not a diet but a lifestyle! So remember that next time you’re packing for a holiday. 🙂

About Fitlass

I'm a young, independent, career driven girl with a hectic lifestyle. Once upon a time I used to be fat but now I've changed my ways and lead a healthy lifestyle. I want to show you how YOU too can be fit and healthy and yet STILL have a lifestyle!
This entry was posted in Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Does your body need a break?

  1. Bab says:

    I totally agree with you Fitlass. In the summer when we were off to Mexico, we took our gym gear, they had a great gym, but we also did yoga, bike riding and lots of walks on the lovely beach, and managed to enjoy the food and cocktails too!

Leave a Reply

