Handle those hunger pangs

How do you spot the signs of real hunger from giving in to habit, boredom or stress? Well I was doing some research into this after a friend of mine said to me: “You don’t have to be hungry to eat” when I refused some food. It made me think, “Gosh what a wrong attitude to have.” Yet I know lots of us are guilty of this from time to time. Just don’t let it happen all the time. That’s when you have problems. Well this is what I come up with from my research.

Next time you dream about that chocolate bar , try and identify what kind of hunger it is. For example is it:

Emotional hunger

This is when you have that intense craving or an empty feeling. Combat it: Actually ask yourself “Am I hungry, angry, lonely or tired?” If you’re not hungry think of other ways to resolve it. Go for a walk, talk to a friend, or rest. The craving will pass

Bored hunger

You know the signals. You’re slumped in front of the box and get a sudden urge to eat to pass the time. Combat it: You’re brain needs stimulating not that chocolate bar! Distract yourself, have a cuppa, glass of water, or do some reading. I tell you you’ll learn a lot more from a book than some of the rubbish on tv nowadays! 🙂

Stressed hunger

You’ve been overdoing and working from dusk till dawn and the only way you know how to cope is to eat. Combat it: Exercise! Yes it might seem like the last thing you want to do believe you me 30 mins of exercise will be the best way you can de-stress.

Real hunger?

Your tummy is rumbling and you’re feeling light headed. So yes go and eat. But go for a healthy snack like crudities and humus, handful of nuts, some fruit. This way you’ll prevent having another dip in your blood sugar levels. Remember regular meals and healthy snacks will help you avoid all the above hunger triggers!

About Fitlass

I'm a young, independent, career driven girl with a hectic lifestyle. Once upon a time I used to be fat but now I've changed my ways and lead a healthy lifestyle. I want to show you how YOU too can be fit and healthy and yet STILL have a lifestyle!
This entry was posted in Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Handle those hunger pangs

  1. It is important to know what type of hunger you have, but you should also think that it could well be dehydration. A lot of the time for me it is nowhere near when I am due to eat and I feel hungry. A glass of water or two later and I am back to normal.
    If you do get bore or habitual “hunger”, try to avoid the chocolate. I didn’t yesterday at the cinema and it ruined my eating day: http://battleofthebulk.wordpress.com/2011/09/30/day-5-habits-are-hard-to-break/

Leave a Reply

