DIY Workout

Apologies for a slightly delay in between writing this post and the last one. I don’t tend to do this as I like to prioritise and help keep you guys inspired and motivated at regular intervals. But Fitlass has been busy painting and decorating the entire house while still going about my everyday chores including trying to run a newsdesk for 12 hours a day. On top of that I was trying to squeeze in small stints of working out my body by doing a run here and a kettlebells session there. And then I thought to myself, “Hold on, painting and decorating is a workout in itself, so why am I trying to squeeze another one in?” Truth is that I’m actually such a fitness fanatic that I enjoy it, but at the same time I have to remind myself that it is ok to alternate that workout and not give myself a hard time if I can’t do my regular workouts. A week off my normal routine is not going to kill me. Besides, a change from what I normally do is a good thing for my body. In fact any kind of household chores can be a workout in itself. So next time you can’t get to the gym, or are faced with things to do around the home, remember, you are getting a workout and getting the job you’ve been putting off for ages done. Just look at all those calories you can burn in half an hour. The results are a scientific estimate of what a ten-stone person would burn while doing the following activities at a comfortable pace, based on the calories burned in an hour per pound of body weight

Painting and decorating – 160 calories – All that climbing up and down the step ladder, reaching up and down to paint the walls adds to an upper body workout. 

Cleaning windows – 125 calories – The size and number of windows will determine how many calories you burn but put the bucket further away from you so you have to reach it to get water.

Weeding – – 115 calories – Bending down to pick out weeds from the garden means you are using your thighs and backside.

Scrubbing the bath – 200 calories – Put your triceps and biceps to good use by scrubbing off those tide marks in the bath. Bye-bye bingo wings. 

Carrying shopping – 190 calories – Yeah I bet the ears pricked up then didn’t they?! 🙂 Try to balance bags in both hands so that there is equal weight in both of them. 

Washing the car – 143 calories – Skip the car wash and do it yourself. You’ll be working your abs and arms as you reach the roof and other awkward places. 

The end result? You’ve just multi-tasked and got yourself your chores and workout done in one! But don’t forget there’s still the washing, ironing, and vacuuming to do. They are great calorie burners too! Happy days! 🙂

About Fitlass

I'm a young, independent, career driven girl with a hectic lifestyle. Once upon a time I used to be fat but now I've changed my ways and lead a healthy lifestyle. I want to show you how YOU too can be fit and healthy and yet STILL have a lifestyle!
This entry was posted in Fitness, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

