Avoid food saboteurs!

Now this issue has been troubling me again recently since I’ve decided to lead a pre-dominantly cave girl lifestyle. There will be a post on this at a later date not too far into the future (Fitlass gone Cavegirl –  seeing it written like that it sounds quite cool actually!!) But in a nutshell it’s about eating clean – no processed foods and no grains. I eat fats, nuts and seeds, fruit, veg and meat. Simple. I enjoy it and I’m already reaping the benefits. However, for some reason it seems to bother a lot of others around me and people are quick to tell me “don’t be so strict on yourself” or “one slice of cake won’t hurt” or worse still “you’ll easily burn it off all those calories with the amount of exercise you do.” Why is that? If I am happy with my lifestyle choice what the hell has it got to do with anyone else?

And I’m not the only one who has experienced this. My readers have told me that this has been one of the biggest obstacles when they decided to go down the route of a healthy lifestyle and/or lose weight. The so-called diet saboteurs – there’s one in every crowd – at the office, among your friends, in your family circle. Sometimes they mean well but sometimes they can come across as a tad malicious. Often they have no idea how they’re sabotaging you. But every time you conquer your battle with food, they’re right in your face, offering you a slice of cake, some chips or an extra helping of pie.

I found from my mini research that experts sum this type of behaviour in a word – change. Getting fit through diet and fitness brings about big changes in your life. You look different and you feel different, and you love these changes. But people around you can’t get their head around it. They can be oblivious, jealous and uncomfortable with your changes. They categorise they characteristics in three ways:

Feel guilty – You’re losing weight and getting in shape and they’re not. By tempting you to fall off the wagon means you’re “normal” again and this makes them feel good.

They don’t understand – They’ve never had a weight problem so don’t realise how hard you have to work to get to your goal.

They’ll miss the “old” you – You no longer bring the cakes in at the office, you may not stick around all night for the drinks after work, and you won’t need to put on a massive show to substitute the way you really feel about the way you look.

If you’re like me and just want to lash out sometimes to make them stop trying to force feed you, don’t over react! Having said that don’t give up either and stick to your guns. It’s taken me a while but try these strategies to keep the saboteurs at bay.

Don’t assume the worst –  Unless the sabotage is blatantly deliberate, give saboteurs the benefit of the doubt. For example if your mum serves up your favourite dish with love, chances are she doesn’t want you fat – she equates food with love.

Just say no – Now if you were an alcoholic, you wouldn’t expect a drink to be rammed down your throat. In the same way you should not have to have food rammed down either. Tel the fat feeder  “No thanks”. You don’t owe them an explanation or feel guilty for rejecting their food.

Ask for help – remember that your weight loss needs are unique to you. You can’t expect your family or friends to telepathically know what your needs are. Tel them! If you find it hard to be around tempting food, tell them and perhaps they can compromise by keeping certain foods away from you or not eat them in front of you.

Final word…….

Take responsibility – what you put in your mouth is ultimately your responsibility. So, someone wants to ruin your efforts, you shouldn’t give in. Instead flex your control muscles and be firm. At the end of the day you’re adopting a healthier lifestyle for you not anyone else.

If anything, get a kick out of knowing that you are in control of food no matter what anyone says or does to sabotage your efforts. And when you get to your goal weight, it will be you that’s having the last laugh 🙂

About Fitlass

I'm a young, independent, career driven girl with a hectic lifestyle. Once upon a time I used to be fat but now I've changed my ways and lead a healthy lifestyle. I want to show you how YOU too can be fit and healthy and yet STILL have a lifestyle!
This entry was posted in Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Avoid food saboteurs!

  1. Lois says:

    Really great post!!! I passed this on to friends of mine!
    I’ve lost weight and am maintaining it, successfully I think. Though even now I have people asking me if I’m going to ‘stop’ and that I don’t have to try so hard. What they don’t understand is that losing weight and keeping it off is a lifestyle change; change being the operative word: there is no going back if you’re serious about weight change. And why would I stop?? Why would I choose to have less energy, feel ill and tired all the time? Why would I choose to be unhappy and miserable because I feel unsexy and fat and turn to food to eat myself happy? Stop and go back to that miserable, perpetual existence??? Err, no thanks!!

    And yet, people are perplexed that I continue eating well and exercising lots. Our bodies are designed to be active. I’ve been told that exercising as much as I do is unnatural and unhealthy, ironically by people who neither eat well nor exercise. What is unnatural is being sat at a desk for 9 hours a day but that’s never a health issue up for discussion is it?

    As you can tell, this subject means a lot to me and I’m so glad you brought it up Fitlass! Time to re-educate I say! xx

Leave a Reply

