Walk the walk

Perfect pins!

Hey fellow readers, I hope you lot have been pounding the streets this week. Why? Because it’s been National Walk to Work Week, that’s why! And if you missed out – or couldn’t due to the sheer distance to the workplace – here’s some damn good reasons to start taking up one of the easiest and safest exercises around. It’s simple, effective, cost-free and you can’t claim you don’t have time. Believe you me this is one of the common excuses I hear from gym dodgers. Now what are those excuses?……… Oh yeah…..I don’t have the time,….I’m scared everyone will look at me,….. I can’t afford it, …..I’ve got dodgy knees,….. there’s a lot of show-offs there (…confession, I’m guilty of being a show off 🙂 )  ……..Well there’s no excuse why walking can’t be included in your day to day life. Although it’s not as intense as aerobics or weight lifting it has a huge number of benefits. For starters it’s kind to the joints, there are virtually no side effects and the risk of injury is very low compared with other exercises. And for those of you already participating in a regular exercise routine, adding a walk will help.  Doctors recommend that we do a brisk walk for at least 30 minutes each day. If you can’t manage this chunk then break this into three ten minute sessions. Perhaps 10 minutes before work, 10 minutes on your lunch break and 10 minutes after work. Need more reasons to walk? Read on….. 

Some reasons to get you off the couch 

Strengthens your heart – in certain studies woman who walked three or more per week reduced their risk of a heart attack

Reduces diabetes – In another study, walking 150 minutes per week and losing 12-15ibs can reduce diabetes by 58% 

Great for the brain – Those who walk more have a significantly better cognitive function. Now that’s something to think about that one 🙂

Good for your bones – Walkers have higher whole-body bone density than those who don’t

Beats depression – Pounding the streets is linked to reducing mild depression and lifts the mood

Improves fitness – Walking just three times a week for 30 minutes can significantly increase cardiorespiratory fitness.

Improves physical function – Research shows that walking improves fitness and physical function and prevents physical disability in older persons

It’s free – It doesn’t cost a penny and you can do it anywhere, any time!

…….and I’m sure there’s many more benefits. Honestly I really couldn’t recommend walking enough.  I was walking regularly long before I was running and still to this day place great emphasis on the importance of walking. Come rain, wind or shine, if the journey is an hour or less, I’m marching. It’s no surprise then that I have good pins as a result! You still sat there? Get off your backside, don those trainers and walk the walk!

About Fitlass

I'm a young, independent, career driven girl with a hectic lifestyle. Once upon a time I used to be fat but now I've changed my ways and lead a healthy lifestyle. I want to show you how YOU too can be fit and healthy and yet STILL have a lifestyle!
This entry was posted in Fitness, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

