Get your FA(c)TS right.

We hear of fats all the time but do we really know what all the different types of fat are? I mean which ones do we lap up and which ones do we avoid like the plague? There is a so much confusion on them that I thought I might help in clear up some of that confusion today. There was a time – both during and after my weight loss journey – when I would avoid all fats, mistakenly thinking that they were going to make me fat. I wouldn’t even as much as scrape butter or margarine on my toast. And then I would tower over whoever was cooking for me to scrutinise exactly how much fat they were adding to my food. Much to the annoyance of chefs I would brush aside any food on my plate that had come in contact with any visible fat. But fast track to today and I’m far more savvy when it comes to fats and happy for the right ones to pass my lips. Below I’ve uncovered some terms you may have come across but perhaps not been entirely sure as to what they are.

Unsaturated Fat

These are mostly the good ones although trans fat is technically an unsaturated fat. The difference here is that healthy unsaturated fats are liquid at room temperature, while trans and saturates fats are solid. To increase your unsaturated fat intake, replace solids like butter with olive oils, red meat with seafood or unsalted nuts.

Polyunsaturated Fat

One of two types of unsaturated fat, polyunsaturated fats can be found in nuts, seeds, vegetable oils such as corn and sun flower oil and fatty fish. This type of oil contains omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids. The reason why we constantly hear these as essential fatty acids is because our bodies don’t make them and can only get them from food. Polyunsaturated fats can help lower your total cholesterol level.

Monounsaturated Fat

This type of fat raises good cholesterol (hdl) and lowers LDL. Canola oil, olive oil, peanut oil, nuts, seeds, and avocados are good sources. Some ways in which you can up this fat in your diet is by dipping crudités in hummus which is rich in olive oil, adding guacamole to salads, and substituting vegetable oil for peanut oil in your stir-fry’s. Unsalted nuts also contain monounsaturated fat.

Omega-3 Fatty Acids

These are the superstar of all the fats  They fight inflammation, help control blood clotting, and lower blood pressure. Fatty fish like, salmon, tuna, mackerel, and sardines are great sources. Guidelines suggest we should eat at least three servings of fish a week to get the benefits.

So don’t be afraid of fats, just know which ones are good for you. Besides eating good fats don’t make you fat!

About Fitlass

I'm a young, independent, career driven girl with a hectic lifestyle. Once upon a time I used to be fat but now I've changed my ways and lead a healthy lifestyle. I want to show you how YOU too can be fit and healthy and yet STILL have a lifestyle!
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Weight Loss and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

