Get fruity!

Fruit is a healthy snack. It’s no wonder boffins and other nutrition experts bang on about it all the time.But did you know that fruit is also high in natural sugar and we should be savvy about which fruits to go for on a more regular basis? Well I tell you what, I almost had a fit when I found that one out! I mean I had only just got my head around eating fruit as a snack over crisps, chocolate and other calorie laden foods! But I’ve since learned that all fruits are good, but to get the optimum benefits of fruit, I know which ones I need to target more often. Therefore I’ve since calmed down and now know about the creme de la creme of fruits. Here are some of the top ones which according to nutritionists give you the best calorie bargains.

Rasberries

All berries are full of hunger busting fibre but raspberries have the most. One cup has the equivalent of four slices og wholegrain bread. raspberries are about a calorie a piece so grab a handful, wash them and stuff them in your face! You can also blitz them in a blender as part of a smoothie.

Grapefruit

Grapefruit diets may have gone out of style with leg warmers and leotards, but don’t dismiss the huge benefits of this trendy fruit. They are low in sugar, high in fibre and according to research improve insulin resistance which means they make you feel fuller for longer.  They are great squeezed first thing in the morning as part of your breakfast.

Apples

An apple a day may keep the doctor away but they could also keep your fat jeans at bay too!  The fibre in apples slows digestion, and if your stomach is full of fruit, you’re less likely to reach for a sugary snack.  A medium apple has four filling grams of fibre – most of which is on the skin so don’t peel it.  I also read somewhere that inhaling a green-apple scent when a food craving hits may trick your brain into thinking you’ve already eaten—and result in weight loss! Could work wonders for those who are not a fan of this mighty fruit!

Bananas

Bananas unfortunately get a lot of bad press (for the record I’m not responsible for this 🙂  ) But research proves their innocence. Findings reveal this bright fruit contain “resistant starch,” a type of fibre that your body digests more slowly, which keeps blood sugar stable and leaves you feeling satisfied longer.  Just be sure to pick a firm banana that’s still a little green. Like any fruit, its starches morph into sugars during the ripening process, making the banana sweeter and more caloric.

I’m by no means saying that you should ditch other fruits because in their own right all fruits have nutritional benefits. However, these fruits are good if you are closely monitoring your calories and want to maximise the benefits you can get from them on a regular basis. But as the saying goes, variety s the spice of life. So make sure you experiment with the abundant of fruits out there!

About Fitlass

I'm a young, independent, career driven girl with a hectic lifestyle. Once upon a time I used to be fat but now I've changed my ways and lead a healthy lifestyle. I want to show you how YOU too can be fit and healthy and yet STILL have a lifestyle!
This entry was posted in Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Get fruity!

  1. Pingback: Cute Pictures

    • Fitlass says:

      hey I’m glad you enjoy the blog. You can subscribe to my blog via the email subscription if that helps? I update the blog every 4/5 days so it will get into your inbox as soon as I have done it when you subscribe. All the best!

Leave a Reply

