Shhhh…..are you listening to your body?

I was inspired to write today’s post after earwigging a conversation between two women in a coffee shop (don’t you just love listening to peoples conversations?!!) One was saying to the other how she wasn’t hungry at all but was adamant that she must eat because it was almost one ‘o’ clock and it was approaching lunchtime. I was so tempted to butt in (I normally do!) and say “listen to your body, if it doesn’t want food this very second, don’t force it!” But I bit my lip and instead kept my opinions to myself. However, I walked away thinking to be fair I couldn’t blame the lady for thinking she had to eat just because the clock said it was lunchtime. We’re constantly told how we should eat breakfast, lunch and dinner with healthy snacks in between and how missing them would create havoc with our bodies.

But in truth you’ll be far better off just listening to your body. Over the years I’ve learned this way of approaching healthy eating is far better than any text book can tell you. Recognise what the body needs in order to feel fit and comfortable. When you listen long and hard enough to your body, I assure you, you will begin to differentiate sensations and feelings and become aware of your own capacity to react to hunger and satiety. Our bodies are amazing machines, they will not lead us astray if you know what they need and respond to appropriately. If you’re capable of taking good care of your body, it will perform for you.

What are the signs to look out for to be in tune with your body? 

Do you know when you are hungry?

Do you know when you are satisfied?

Do you know when you are full?

Do you know what to eat to satisfy your body?

Do you know if you are too fat, too thin or just right?

How do you feel after eating certain foods?

Do you feel guilty after eating food?

Do you eat for comfort?

Do you eat mindlessly?

By learning to listen to your hunger, you’ll also be getting good practice in becoming responsive to your feelings in general. Our feelings are like signs, guideposts, coping mechanisms. Here are some steps to start listening to your body right now.

Q: How much do you give your body?

A: Just enough to give your body what it needs to feel satiated, no more, no less.

Q: How do you achieve good health.

A: Give your body nutritious and varied foods regularly in the form of meals and snacks.

Q: When do you workout?

A: You will know whether you have the energy to do a workout in the morning, lunchtime or evening. There will be days when you can go like a Duracell battery and other days when you can only manage ten minutes.

Q: What do you do when you feel”stuck” and feel you’re not getting any where with your health regime?

A: Get some guidance from a nutritionist, doctor or personal trainer. Just a different perspective on things can make a big difference.

About Fitlass

I'm a young, independent, career driven girl with a hectic lifestyle. Once upon a time I used to be fat but now I've changed my ways and lead a healthy lifestyle. I want to show you how YOU too can be fit and healthy and yet STILL have a lifestyle!
This entry was posted in Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Shhhh…..are you listening to your body?

  1. trainer says:

    Fantastic blog! I really love how it’s easy on my eyes and also the information are well written. I am wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which ought to do the trick! Have a nice day!

    • Fitlass says:

      HI there, I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog. Thanks. And yes the email subscriptions will alert you when a new post has been made. All the best Sabi

  2. In search of attempting on the internet for one high-quality read pertaining to the following topic . Scouting in Yahoo I lastly discovered this blog post. Reading this info I’m just glad to mention that I’ve got a really good feeling I came across the very things I was ready for. I’ll ensure to remember this blog and go here consistently.

    • Fitlass says:

      Thanks and I hope you will get inspiration from my blog. You can sign up via the email subscription which will then alert you each time I post a new blog post. I hope that helps and all the best! Best Sabi

  3. I can see that you are an expert at your field! I am launching a website soon, and your information will be very useful for me.. Thanks for all your help and wishing you all the success in your business.

    • Fitlass says:

      Hi there, Glad you’re enjoying the blog. yes I’m pleased that the blog is doign well and I am looking to link it in with a national newspaper and Tv website. I am happy for you to link in to your website if it helps. Best sabi

  4. Hey admin, I have a tiny request. I was just googleing for some info on this topic you wrote and found this blog. Some really great stuff you shared here, can I please link to this post on my new website I’m currently working on? It would be great 🙂 . I will check back again later to see how you responded. cheers, Nina Wilson

    • Fitlass says:

      Hi there, thnaks for liking the blog. Of course I’m happy for you to post ot on your website. I’ve got some great opportunities coming up regarding the blog gettign more recognition too for TV and papers so I will keep you notified. Best Sabi

Leave a Reply

