Weighing the pros and cons

I was at the gym at the weekend and heard a cry of disbelief from the direction of the home to the scales. I turned around to realise the cry came from an extremely fed- up (to use a better phase) friend after she’d just weighed herself.  So I went over to see what the problem was. She screamed: “I can’t believe I’ve put on 2 pounds in 2 days! I may as well go home and drink copious amounts of alcohol and eat rubbish!”  I had to calm her down and try to get her to see sense that she couldnt possibly have put on that much weight in 48 hours. Eventually she relaxed and was in a far better mood before venturing off home. 

Later I thought to myself: “How many people actually do this to themselves?” You know weigh themselves so often that they get obsessed with the scales. Men are just as guilty as women to do this albeit wanting to GAIN weight. Don’t get me wrong, once upon a time I was guilty of this ritual myself. Now the only time I get weighed is when I’m having a full body MOT by my doctor. Even then I tell her not to tell me how much I weigh. I simply don’t want to know. My clothes will tell me if I’ve gained a pound or two. So today I’ve decided to tackle this issue head on and give you a perspective on scales.

As I said, I’ve come across people who get so obsessed with the scales that they can’t help jumping on it every day, sometimes two or three times a day and then they get disheartened with the results. Worse still, they weigh themselves on a given day and realise they’ve shed 2lbs since they last weighed themselves two days ago and then by the following two days they’ve put it back on again!

Now if this sounds all familiar to you, then I can tell you now from my all my research, there’s no way you can lose or put on 2lbs of FAT in just a couple of days. Note I say FAT! Remember there are 3500 calories in 1lb of body fat so you would need to be doing some serious training to lose fat at this rate.

We’re all aware that our bodies fluid retention fluctuates during the day and most of the scale weight fluctuation that we see is the result of hydration levels going up or down. By weighing in just once a week, you should be able to get an accurate reading of what your weight is and how much you are losing if you are trying to lose weight.

The general consensus is that the best time to weigh yourself is in the morning, naked after a visit to the throne (aka toilet :-)). This will give you a happy balance of satisfying your curiosity and an accurate account of keeping the scales tipping in the right direction without losing heart.

So a recap of how NOT to weigh yourself!

Scale Positioning: You know, you stand on the scale anticipating a decrease in numbers and when it doesn’t show the numbers you want, you reposition until just the right numbers show up!

Foot Positioning: You are standing on the scale and the number isn’t quite where it should be. You shift your foot a bit forward…..ooh and a little back now. Hmmm perhaps taking the heavy socks will help. And, the dance continues…

Needle Placement: Standing above the scale, you see that the needle is placed just a bit to the left of the zero. That won’t give you a favourable reading. So you hop off, move the knob in an attempt to perfectly centre the needle over the zero. Oh what the hell just move the dial left of the zero and yes-s-s-s-s- youve got the right number!

Sick Weight: We all hate getting ill but one minute – there’s pros to being bed bound! We’ve excitedly jumped on the scales after a nasty bout of flu and realised we’ve lost weight!! Woohoo! Who cares if you’ve bonded with the ceramic bowl for three days? Who would’ve thought being ill could bring so much joy!

About Fitlass

I'm a young, independent, career driven girl with a hectic lifestyle. Once upon a time I used to be fat but now I've changed my ways and lead a healthy lifestyle. I want to show you how YOU too can be fit and healthy and yet STILL have a lifestyle!
This entry was posted in Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weighing the pros and cons

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Weighing the pros and cons | Fitlass -- Topsy.com

  2. Mike says:

    Check out the 31 Day Fat Loss Cure at weightsecretsrevealed.com

Leave a Reply

