How to shift that half a stone.

Whether it’s half a stone you want to lose that you lugged back with your baggage from holiday or you want to take half a stone less with you for your forthcoming holiday, there is an easy way to do it. Honestly, it’s a case of fine tuning what you put in your mouth and what you get out of your body. Wanting to know how to lose half a stone has been a big question posed by a number of you so I thought it was high time I tackled it head on.

When I was losing weight, like a lot of you, the needle of my scales stuck half a stone shy from my target weight and no matter what I seemed to do, I just couldn’t tip the scales in the direction I wanted them to. So I went and sought advice from a nutritionist who gave me some basic tips on what to do. I’ve always gone back to these tips if I’ve ever wanted to shift those few pounds when my clothes feel tight.

Top Tips

Try to stick to three main meals a day with healthy snacks like fruit and yoghurt in between. Really account for every morsel that enters your mouth. If you nibble it scribble it – we really can under estimate what we are eating.

Have as much fresh food as can to reduce the amount of processed foods in your diet. Ready meals may seem convenient after a hard days work but they really won’t do your hips any good.

Cutting down from the average intake of 9g of salt a day to 3g can help lose 3-5ib by releasing body water which you store when eating a high salt diet. This helps you to feel lighter right away and gives you an incentive to really go for it. 

Go nuts over peanut butter and slap some on your toast (that is of course if you are not allergic to it!) Studies have shown that people who eat this gooey stuff had their hunger reduced for up to two and a half hours making them less likely to binge.

Eggs are also great when it comes to keeping you fuller for longer. From my own experience, I’ve noticed that I eat a lot less when I eat eggs because I don’t feel hungry.

If you feel hungry try drinking some water first. Wait for  about 20 minutes and if you still feel hungry the eat some fruit or crudites with humus. Sometimes our brains can trick us into thinking we are hungry when in fact we’re just dehydrated. As someone who likes hot drinks, I also find drinking tea helps.

Try half a grapefruit or a small grapefruit juice before meals. Research shows that this helps control insulin levels for two hours after eating which can help the urge to snack. 

Now for those of you who know me this is my favourite one! Chilli sauce has shown to speed up the amount of calories you burn by up to 15 for several hours after eating. So add a bit of spice to your (food) life!

Drinking green tea also appears to have fat-burning effects in our bodies. Try two or three cups per day.

Up your exercise, whether that be an extra gym class a week or going for a long walk at the weekend, increasing your exercise helps kickstart your metabolism. If you really can’t make time to squeeze in an extra fitness session, try simple things like walking up and down escalators and stairs or jumping off the bus a stop earlier. It really does count and makes a big difference.

Remember be disciplined and there’s no reason why you can’t get rid of that half a stone. Happy holidaying!

About Fitlass

I'm a young, independent, career driven girl with a hectic lifestyle. Once upon a time I used to be fat but now I've changed my ways and lead a healthy lifestyle. I want to show you how YOU too can be fit and healthy and yet STILL have a lifestyle!
This entry was posted in Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

