Plateau – why won’t the scales budge?

If you’ve ever tried to lose for a length of time  you may have hit a plateau. You’ve changed nothing but suddenly the scales just won’t budge. And that has to be the biggest motivation killer I can think of and if you’re like me you just want to throw in the towel and eat for England. And I did exactly that on a few occasions until I realised what I could do something about it. The single best word of advice is to make a change. So with the help of researching this issue (it really helps being a journalist and researching stuff sometimes!) I was able to make some changes and finally was back on the road to losing the weight and finally reaching my goal.

So what changes can you make?

1. Vary the calorie intake – This is where you vary the amount of calories you are consuming while still intaking the same weekly calories overall. So if you are eating 1800 calories a day you can mix it up. For example, eat 1500 calories one day and 2100 the next. This basically helps kick-start the metabolism and keeps the body guessing.

2. Strength training – If you do little or no strength training at all, then this is the time to introduce it into your program. As I said before in my posts, I never did strength training at first because I didn’t realise the importance of it.  But working your muscles will help increase lean mass and ultimately boost your metabolism.

3. Change your exercise routine – So if you jog a lot, try swimming or cycling or an aerobics class instead – anything that will change the way your body is working. If you’re doing a low intensity workout them try some high intensity exercises. You will then working other muscle groups that you never thought you even had – and trust me you will know this when you’re in pain! It does eventually stop though 🙂

4. Change what you are eating – I’m a creature of habit and can eat the same food over and over again. But as I have learned it’s much better to vary your diet to ensure that you are getting the right nutrients as well. If for example you’re eating a diet that is high in carbs try eating less carbs and more protein (remember do not cut out any food group). No need to get super technical over it  but whatever you are doing consistently just try mixing it up a bit.

5. Meal frequency – Are you someone who eats three square meals a day? Then start adding snacks in between – this will mean you will have to reduce the portion sizes of your main meals but don’t worry as eating little and often will actually keep you full. Once again what you’re doing here is trying to boost your metabolic rate.

I hope some of these tips will help as they did for me. Remember every person is unique and you will get to learn how your body responds to you and how you can work with that. Persevere because you WILL get there – I promise! Happy healthy eating.

About Fitlass

I'm a young, independent, career driven girl with a hectic lifestyle. Once upon a time I used to be fat but now I've changed my ways and lead a healthy lifestyle. I want to show you how YOU too can be fit and healthy and yet STILL have a lifestyle!
This entry was posted in Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

