Get motivated and stick to it.

How often do you succumb to that fourth biscuit because you were so hungry and then thought to yourself “I may as well eat the whole packet?” Ok it may not be a biscuit but something else that you love eating with a passion. Whatever your downfall, you would do yourself more good if you just get back on the straight and narrow. As someone who fell off the weight loss bandwagon more times than I care to remember, here’s some of my top tips to sticking to the weight loss plan or maintaining your weight.

1. Plan Ahead –  “Plan, plan, plan!  If you know you’re going to an event, eat something before going so you aren’t as tempted.  Last night I went for a slap up meal, so I adjusted what I ate during the day so I could enjoy my meal without having to worry about it afterwards.

2. A few bites – If you are really in the mood for something off the plan, eat a small amount of it (three bites or so) and then go right back to eating what you would do that day. If you do overindulged, no need to kick yourself over it. Just think “Ok it’s done now, I need to get over it and get straight back on track. ”

3. Weigh in – It’s good to weigh yourself to check your progress but please don’t get obsessive. Weigh yourself at the same time and day each week. Also remember inch loss counts for a lot too. I remember some weeks the dial didn’t budge from the scale but then the week after I had lost more than I thought. It all balances itself out in the end.

4. One day at a time – Think about today. You’re on a journey learning about eating healthy for life so sometimes its better to take it one day at a time. Think what you can do today to make healthy changes to reach your goal.

5. Reward yourself – Steady! I’m talking the non food type here! It’s good to have that long-term goal in sight but have short term attainable goals. For every half a stone I lost I treated myself to some make-up or jewellery

6. If you bite it, write it – Sometimes we can under estimate what we have eaten so I found it best to write down everything I put in my mouth.  So yes that Werther’s Original counts too!

 

7. What’s you trigger – Figure out what your cheat ‘trigger’ is (stress, boredom, being overly hungry, not having ‘legal’ food handy, etc.) and formulate a plan to combat that trigger the next time it occurs.

and finally……

8. Forgive your slip ups – We all have slip ups from time to time so don’t just sit there and give up. Get straight back onto the plan as soon as you can.

So, if you ever need any motivation to stick to your plan, go back and re-read and re-read the above points. One of them will eventually stick in your mind. Don’t EVER give up!

About Fitlass

I'm a young, independent, career driven girl with a hectic lifestyle. Once upon a time I used to be fat but now I've changed my ways and lead a healthy lifestyle. I want to show you how YOU too can be fit and healthy and yet STILL have a lifestyle!
This entry was posted in Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

