Cardio V’s Strength Training

Hands up those of you who get obsessed with the amount of calories you can burn in a cardio session? At one point I would’ve shot my hand up quicker than a bullet. This was before I understood the importance of strength training. I was so obsessed with cardio and the amount of calories I was burning, that I couldn’t see beyond the digital meter on the stationary bike or treadmill. Now I don’t even know how many calories I burn because I don’t obsess about it anymore.

 

It seems like everyone (me included) starts out doing cardio type exercises when they first embark on a fitness regime. These are fab for getting your heart beating and burning lots of calories. But you would need to build your muscle mass if you would like to keep those calories coming off even after you stop your exercise routine for the day. So ultimately working out with weights will put your weight loss goals into overdrive.

The Science bit….

One pound of muscle mass added to your body weight can burn up to 50 calories each day. Can you imagine, you’re sat in a bar and your body will actually be working for you? (I’ll raise my glass to that!) When you’re on a diet you’ll lose muscle along with any fat you lose. This causes the metabolism to slowdown and you might find that the pounds aren’t coming off as fast as you’d like. However, if you do some strength training you’ll burn the calories faster which will eventually help you lose that weight and become a lot more toned.

Lift Up

So go ahead and lift some weights. By doing this you will burn away the fat during your workout and will continue to do so after you have stopped exercising for the day. The stronger you get, the heavier the weights you can lift and the more calories you will burn. Having said that, strength training should not replace your cardio workouts. For best results try mixing the two together and you’ll be on the road to a honed toned you. Bye bye bingo wings!

About Fitlass

I'm a young, independent, career driven girl with a hectic lifestyle. Once upon a time I used to be fat but now I've changed my ways and lead a healthy lifestyle. I want to show you how YOU too can be fit and healthy and yet STILL have a lifestyle!
This entry was posted in Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cardio V’s Strength Training

  1. Lois says:

    Yay! Like this post! I love my strength training and work on it equally as my cardio training. Don’t worry ladies, you don’t get ‘big’, you do get toned though which is what everyone wants.

Leave a Reply

