Pole Dancing

I’ve just embarked on my latest fitness craze – pole dancing. I wouldn’t say it’s something I’ve always wanted to do (although it could come in handy if the day job packs up!) but I’ve heard lots of benefits of such classes which are cropping up at leisure centres all across the country.  So I thought I’d go and find out for myself and eagerly went along to a taster session which was offered at my local gym.  I have to say I was quite smug at first thinking, ‘How hard can it be? It’s no different to climbing up a tree when I was kid, no?’ Boy oh boy was I in for a shock.  Just a simple twirl on the pole a couple of times had me aching and bruised for the entire week. But don’t let that put you off. My teacher Lucy (amazing dancer) told me that it was natural to be achy, as is the case when embarking on any new exercise regime.  So I’m hanging on to that pole for dear life for the moment.

It’s probably the most controversial fitness trend I can think of (I’m not averse to being controversial by the way) but what better way to have a great laugh, lots of fun and get toned at the same time? There really was no room to get shy either as everyone in the class was in the same boat. At first we all felt a bit silly trying to strut our stuff attempting to look sexy but before we knew it, we were all in stitches and the hour just flew by. I have to say it’s quite different working the pole when you’re sober compared to when you’re drunk. Hmmm booze has a lot to answer for sometimes. 

 

The classes are not intended to train you professionally – unless you want to I guess. They are there to welcome women of all ages and sizes in order to get fit, increase flexibility, improve posture, tone up, burn calories and improve confidence. And there was indeed a mixture of women in the taster session who thoroughly enjoyed the class. So much so that the majority of us who were quite sceptical about squeezing ourselves in shorts and hanging upside down on a pole for an hour, actually ended up signing up for the six month course. Whatever happens, I know it’s going to be a lot of fun and I’ll be blogging about my progress – or lack of it – as I soldier on. The only thing is I was so enthusiastic about my first class that on the way home I was tempted to swing around the lamppost. Oh dear……

About Fitlass

I'm a young, independent, career driven girl with a hectic lifestyle. Once upon a time I used to be fat but now I've changed my ways and lead a healthy lifestyle. I want to show you how YOU too can be fit and healthy and yet STILL have a lifestyle!
This entry was posted in Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

